Important Notice: The Office of Vital Records has birth and death records for this year and last year only. 

 

If you are an adult looking to purchase your own birth certificate, or you are looking to purchase a birth certificate for a child older than one, please contact the Riverside County Assessor-Clerk-Recorder at (951) 955-6200 or visit their site.

Welcome to Our Website!

Pursuant to California Health & Safety Code Sections 102275-103395, the Office of Vital Records registers all births, deaths and fetal deaths that occur within the County of Riverside.

The Office of Vital Records also issues certified copies of births and deaths that occurred in Riverside County during 2016 and 2017. To obtain certified copies of birth or death records for 2015 or earlier, please contact the County of Riverside Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder at (951) 955-6200, or visit them on the web at: http://www.asrclkrec.com/Recorder/Birth,Death,MarriageCertificates.aspx

 

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Law on certified copies

As of July 1, 2003, California State Law (SB 247) changed the process in which certified copies are issued. This law was passed in order to protect against identity theft. In short the law states that:

"...if a certified copy is ordered by mail we will require a notarized sworn statement unless an information copy is desired in which case we will not require a notarized sworn statement.."

Holiday Closures
  • Day after New Year's Day- Mon. 1/2/17 
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Mon. 1/16/17
  • Lincoln’s Birthday - Mon. 2/13/17
  • Washington's Birthday - Mon. 2/20/17
  • Memorial Day - Mon. 5/29/17
  • Independence Day - Tue. 7/4/17
  • Labor Day - Mon. 9/4/17
  • Columbus Day - Mon. 10/9/17
  • Day Before Veteran's Day - Fri. 11/10/17
  • Thanksgiving Day - Thu. 11/23/17
  • Day after Thanksgiving Day - Fri. 11/24/17
  • Christmas Day - Mon. 12/25/17

Weekend/Holiday Emergency Filing:
The Riverside County Local Registration District (LRD) offers emergency filing to accommodate religious and cultural beliefs that require interment within 48 hours of death. To be eligible the disposition must be scheduled within 48 hours of death. The LRD staff will be on call for emergency filings on Saturday, Sunday and County holidays from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. You can reach the LRD staff at the Riverside County Public Health answering service at (951) 782-2974.

Thank you for your dedicated service to family and friends, residents and visitors.  If you have any questions or concerns, please call Wayne Harris at (951) 358-5261 (office) or (951) 237-3030 [mobile]